A MIMent In Time

By justmim

1,000 blips. That is a lot of moments, memories and meandering thoughts recorded in one place.

1,000 photos and many more words.

I was curious to look back on my blips and read the words that fill the spaces below the photos. There are many of my blips with empty content, yet there are others that describe my days, tell of change, and reflect on journeys.

The researcher in me broke out and I began copying the text from all of my entries (in the end I think I entered about 700/999) into one document. This text I then entered into various online word frequency counters, including Wordle, to find out which words I used most.

As I waited for the image to load I expected to find myself cringing at the bold appearance of words like 'work', 'busy', 'productive'; things by which I so often foolishly measure my days.

In fact, my most frequently used words were 'morning' and 'evening'. But as I looked between those two bookends I found other words; 'lovely', 'wonderful', 'friends', 'family', 'church', 'God', 'Edinburgh', 'good', 'home' and, yes, 'cake'.

Then the word that seemed to bring depth to the others, 'thankful'. Not for how many times I used it (for I often do not give thanks when I ought) but for the bright pink highlighter emphasis of all that I have to be thankful for.

Whatever the day, season or situation there is something to give thanks for. Not because of what I can do, but because of what God has done for me. Not because of what I have got, but because of what He has given.

And so the song of my heart is not a stirring worker's call, but a song of thankfulness "to Him who bore my pain...to Him who walks beside...to Him who reigns above".

Will I keep blipping? I think so, although perhaps not with the frequency of recent weeks. We shall soon find out :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.