Peahen

By Peahen

A bling blip

This morning saw a quick sort-through of going-out clothes. Surprisingly and delightingly, they all fit. They all date back to several years pre-child, and in a couple of cases, including this one, several years pre-husband too.

This blip is a detail from a frock with a bit of history. I bought it on a trip to either Bruges or Vienna (shamefully I can't remember which), when I visited a good friend who was working there. The Euro was not long launched, and we stood in front of the window of Zara consistently and bemusedly coming back to a price of about £45 for the sparkliest and most fitted dress in the entire history of the solar system. Underpinning it is a conundrum due to the halter neck and low back, there's no way I could run for a bus (locally there are virtually no buses here anyway during the hours that it's worn). It came home with me, of course. There was no way that my inner Brazilian drag queen could resist all that bling, and no way that the more practical outer me could resist a dress that would never ever need ironing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.