Where are we going?

I attended my friend Ahjamu Umi's celebration for African Liberation Day at Alicia Jackson's house this afternoon, and after the festivities a group of us sat around on the front porch, musing about the way forward for social justice. This is Mike, one of the most deeply thoughtful people I know. He concluded, "I'm wide open to new ideas. I think it's time for the young folks to come forward with something we haven't heard before. I'm waiting for them, and meanwhile I'm doing everything I can think of. But it's not enough."

My feelings exactly.

We had some rice pudding and bottled water. The city has once again turned off the water to Alicia's house, insisting she's not the rightful owner of the house and they can't turn it on except by request from the business that bought her house from the bank which had taken it from her by deceptive means. Sigh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.