Kamera-Kazi

By kamerakazi

Icecream man and I

Enjoyed a beautiful day which is kind of fitting as I am currently listening to U2's song, Beautiful Day. I am thinking about my summer plans more as in about 2 months, I will be leaving Tokyo to spend the summer in Vancouver, Canada. My fiancee will remain in Tokyo as her vacation is much shorter than mine. I have 6 weeks, she has 10 days! Therefore, we will be separated for approximately a month, something I am not looking forward to. However it will be her first time to go to Canada and she is excited and reading all about it in travel magazines and on the internet :)

Last year, as I usually do each year, I spent 5 weeks on my favourite island, Hachijojima, here in Japan. I have a tradition to go there on all my summer vacations, and last year Rina joined me for the first time. Needless to say, she fell in love with the island, too! Look it up on Google, and you will see why :)

The reason why I am breaking tradition this year for the first time in 5 years, is because we are considering moving to Vancouver soon. We are both Japanese, but I grew up in Canada, in both the French-speaking Quebec City, and the lovely city of Vancouver. Rina speaks a little English, but no French, so that leaves us with Vancouver (as I am not too interested in other cities except maybe Halifax).

Anyhow, many things to consider, especially as I have a great job here, just not a guaranteed job as I am on a yearly contract, which could technically not be re-newed suddenly, leaving us in financial pain. However, Vancouver does not have that many jobs right now as the economy is quite bad, so.... hmm.. Not an easy decision..

As usual, when I am thinking and just exploring my options I like to take a walk and also eat icecream, so today was a perfect thinking day as we walked 7 km and ate 2 different kinds of icecream! Perfect! (note, I still haven't made up my mind, but my tummy sure does feel better!) :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.