Leiflife

By Leiflife

Weather For Ducks

It rains in steady soaking downpours with occasional rain-free silvery openings  for going forth and staying dry. Music and I were watching for such a window that we might visit the park and walk. For Music, the pleasure is in the stopping and sniffing the passing of recent visitors. For me, it is the potential for a photograph that attracts: the possibility of bird, squirrel, tree with the light just right. This time the window opened upon the little Pie-billed Grebe that I blipped quite recently. And this time she wasn't alone. Swimming with her on the ruffled water was a friend. This time when she looked in my direction, it was less a flirtatious look than a "Look what I have." She was enormously pleased with her good fortune. Did she gloat a bit? Was I the littlest bit envious of their sweet togetherness?

Hey, wait a minute... I was in my element, aiming the camera. Never mind that Music was straining at the leash that was under my foot again. I was clicking the shutter and the rain was holding off. I was most certainly not thinking of losing her to some other duck. No... You are right... I am not a duck. I think it is time to change the subject. What shall we talk about?

Ahhh... Photography... I am posting a blip. The pictures of her alone were clearer, and the little ducks' bottoms were not overexposed, but I thought you would like to see the dear little Pie-billed Grebe again and her new companion. Truly...I am very happy for the lovely couple.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.