Bohuntin Hill

It was a quick efficient site day helped a lot by spending a few hours on preparation earlier in the week. I was home early and had a quick email and report to write up. I thought I would get up Bohuntin Hill to see the sun set. I hit the send button stood up to get ready and the phone went. I had to take it as the guy had been good enough to phone me back in response to a couple of GPS queries. It was long call. I stood up again and the phone went again. This time it was a long and complex enquiry about a possible future job. With hindsight I offered so much explanation of our methods and approach that perhaps the man will go and do it himself. Call concluded, it was now 5.30 pm.
I put Caley in the car, gathered my gear in to the rucksack and drove off up Glen Roy. The sun was disappearing quickly and I stepped on to the hill at about five past six. I was trying to climb quicker than normal and I could hear my own pulse thumping in my head. I was cursing the heavy bag but I needed all its contents. I forgot to check my time at the summit. There was only one big snowfield to cross and unlike last visit it was rock hard with a boot barely making an indentation.
The sun was gone but the views were still lovely. Glen Roy was in shade but you could still make out the heavily sculpted valley profile. In the other direction the high sky line of the Grey Corries to Nevis Range shimmered white and blue.
I was flapping a bit, scared that we were going to be plunged in to darkness, not from any navigation concerns but the undesired grainy effect of using high ISO values.

Photos taken I took a few seconds to savour the moment without the camera. I switched the head torch on and by the time we were half way back to the car the clear dark sky was full of stars. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.