Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

High Maintenance

The title isn't referring to the plumbing fixtures in my photo -- I'm talking about my teeth and gums!

When I was growing up in the post-war UK, preventive dental care consisted of tooth brushing only -- there were no regular checks. A visit to the dentist was only prompted by toothache. In spite of this, I've managed to retain most of my teeth, although I have multiple fillings and a few crowns. I am retroactively grateful for sugar rationing, which lasted many years after WWII, for this.

The dentist I've had since coming to Bellingham 13 years ago has always promised me that if I continued to floss regularly, my teeth would last for my lifetime, even after I told him my Dad almost made it to his 92nd birthday, and I fully intend to match that.

Now we're getting into some of the small print. Research has shown that healthy gums are a major factor in overall health. Flossing apparently doesn't get deep enough into the tooth sockets. After repeated recommendations from my dentist and hygienist, I bought a ShowerFloss. It's the white thing attached to the shower head. I tried it tonight, and liked it.

Cynthia grumbles enough about flossing and using an electric toothbrush -- she won't be thrilled to add this to her regimen. As my dentist says, "only floss the ones you want to keep".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.