Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Time for tea

Today, on the eve of Mothers' Day / Mothering Sunday, I bought this mug. It reminded me of the enamel mug I used to use at guide camp. Thinking of guide camp led me to think of mum, a lifelong guide, sea ranger and guider who died aged just 51, in 1979 when I was 25. Her father was a POW in Singapore for most of the 2nd world war, she and her mum coped thoroughout the war but I don't think either of her parents recovered. Mum was a strong lady.
Thinking of mum and her parents led me to think of my other grandmother, Dad's mum, a redoubtable lady, born in 1894 who served as a WAAC in the first world war. She met her husband, an Australian officer, in France and they married in France on January 1st 1919.
This picture covers thoughts of 3 generations of tea drinkers. The washstand was my grandmother's, the mug reminds me of mum, and I use both.
Three generations of mothers - an Allison, a Sowter, and an Andrews. All three of us being Andrews for part of our lives and all of us part of the same story, so all live on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.