Aussiebackhome

By AussieinOz

National Gallery Visit

Perhaps my favourite place in Canberra is the Fog Sculpture in the National Gallery of Australia's sculpture garden. This beautiful, ever-changing fog is turned on between 12.30 and 2 every day. I really enjoyed having a chance to visit it today. Of course there are many other wonderful sculptures in the garden, and amazing works of art in the gallery. I was pleased to see eight paintings by Clarice Beckett. I remember a time when we were lucky if one was on display. The gallery has expanded and reorganised since I last visited. Today's visit was about visiting those works that I love. Next time I will explore some others ... Years ago I worked across the road from the NGA and was able to visit once or twice a week in my lunch breaks. I'm looking forward to more visits, and breaking away from the path through my favourites and exploring more of the collection.

I was impressed that I managed to find my way there, but I did have a slight hiccough looking for parking. Ended up doing a detour through the parking for the National Portrait Gallery by mistake :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.