Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

Shirley Temple I wasn't!!

Dear Diary,

Circa 1958...on my way to the performance of Alice in Wonderland.  I remember the lavender costume very well.  What role did I play in the production?  Well, my friend and I were the white gloves the rabbit dropped as Alice chased him!  Yes, the white gloves of all things!

My dance career was short lived, just two years, but I always retained my love of the theater and worked on many school productions when I became a teacher.  One year I turned Alice in Wonderland into a contemporary version where Alice falls into a manhole on the streets of New York city!  The caterpillar was an Elton John character and the Mad Hatter's tea party took place in a diner!

Lesson: if you can't be in the spotlight, work behind the scenes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.