gennepher

By gennepher

An old Giles cartoon...

...on Mother's Day, many years ago!

By the way, I have been following the discussions on the future of blipfoto. We don't have any idea what is happening, although it is appearing ominous, but do remember is isn't over until the fat lady sings...whatever that is supposed to mean.

I thought to myself last night, nah I won't bother trying to back up my blip pages, because we can't keep everything. But then, as I looked through the back pages from the beginning I realised I had done a lot of research on gravestones and stuff which I thought was always going to be available for me if I wanted/needed to access it later. Then I realised (I knew this anyway) how much a diary this was of my personal stuff and feelings. And then I read your comments for each post...the comments were precious to me, more than the photo and the post itself.

A couple of options I looked at were just the photo and post. Then I tried various apps because I wanted to make a pdf of all my posts and comments. But, either the apps didn't deliver as promised or they wanted money. I wasn't going to waste money for something I wasn't sure was going to deliver...this I was trying on my iPad which is the very early iPad2.

So, it was around midnight last night, and I knew I really wanted to back up my posts. I looked on my iPhone 6 which is the only bit of new technology I have. Maybe this would work. So, I opened up one of my blipfoto web pages and had a look at the options it gave me on the box with the arrow going upwards. It had all the usual suspects...Mail, Twitter, Facebook etc, but nothing that would do what I wanted...then there were three dots and it said more. the only likely looking thing under more was Evernote (I only have the free version), so I clicked on it and it saved my blipfoto page, but I was initially disappointed because there were no comments included...but then it dawned on me...I needed to open up the comments first.

So I tried again, opening up the comments this time and went to Evernote again and I was able to save the whole post including all the comments. I was made up...did the happy jig...made a cuppa and settled down to saving my posts. I finally finished my 275th blipfoto entry when daylight was peeking through the curtains and it was time to get up!

The whole process was very easy to do from my iPhone6. It was just the time it took waiting for each blip page to load, and then I had to scroll down to comments, and then wait again for them to load, but also then I kept reading the pages and the comments again. Thank you for all your comments over the past few few months. I sincerely hope blipfoto will continue and that all is happening is they are just sorting out stuff.

I didn't know if Evernote or Blip would let me download all those web pages and I kept checking to see if they were downloading okay and accessible from  my other devices also. They were.

I have barely used Evernote before, so I do not know what it offers within its system. But I will have to read up on it now. That is my next job.

At least I have all my posts and comments and I will be checking to see if I can somehow make a pdf from them. Blipfoto is a diary that is important to me.

By the way, once I finished putting all my posts on Evernote I had read some  more recents post of others and the concerns, and also that there seems to be a general consensus that 365project.org seems to be the way to go if something does happen to blip. So I toddled over to 365 and joined to see what it offered. The account is free, and there is a small yearly charge for you to get that much more. The yearly charge was around £13 and I had just that amount floating around somewhere doing nothing for the past two years, so I joined 365. It is useful being a member because it gives you notifications etc.

I have tried other online photo sites, but none of them had the intimacy and friendship of blipfoto so I left them long ago. I will be backing up my daily photos I post on blip on to 365 as well and also on Evernote...it won't take more than a few minutes if that.

Now, here is a link I came across a long while ago and I think it is very funny, it had me in laughter and still makes me smile. It is a 404 page not found, and I was sort of thinking, oneday I might log on to blipfoto and get 404 not found...so that is why I remembered this...just wait and see what happens, and each time I think it is going to stop, it starts again...

Right, this post won't accept any link. Now, I have managed to attach the live link to Chrissel's comment and my reply directly below...I am now on a different browser, Puffin, and fingers crossed this may work....so link to the 404 page  here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.