Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Procession

I feel a bit of a fraud posting this photo of the procession of ox-carts that conveyed passengers back to Amalotus after a morning visit to a Bhuddist temple for a blessing, as I remained unblessed after making the decision that 20 minutes in an ox-cart would probably finish me off in the breathing and back departments! The ship was tied up at Oudong, about 22 miles to the north of Phnom Penh, and I went ashore as my fellow-travellers returned so that I could see what I'd missed.

The oxen were beautiful - all scrubbed so that their hides looked like finest suede - but the carts, though authentic, were apparently as hard as they looked, and the angles difficult to sit at for more than ten minutes. To quote our daily bulletin: The Cambodian farmers use the oxcart to harvest crops, carry hay, animals and even carry their family members. Insect repellent is recommended.


I admired; I accepted the jasmine blossoms brought from the blessing for me by my friends. But I think I was glad I'd stayed on board ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.