weewilkie

By weewilkie

walking upstream

My son and I went a walk upstream the Kelvin River. It was mostly overcast, and muddy underfoot.
At the part where the river path diverges and you can cut up the short distance to the Forth and Clyde canal at Maryhill Locks I came across this little clump of daffodils. There are myriad daffodils in bloom just now, but what made the heart sing when I saw these was that they were isolated in a sea of brown autumnal mulch. An oasis of Spring. A vision of growth.
I looked round to see where my boy was, but he was shuffling his feet muttering the phrase My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die ! countless times.
So we were both in good places. My little daffodil island, his favourite phrase from a film we watched together for the first time last night. We were happy, and we were together. I approached him, repeated the phrase in - I don't mind boasting - an outstandingly outrageous Spanish accent to him. We laughed, turned downriver and flowed all the way home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.