Brave Blue World

By OlliEcological

First of the season.

Neither me nor Pops had a sniff of any fish at all until the very end of the day. I've lost my thermometer so couldn't take the temperature but it's as cold as I've ever known in the thirty years I've fished it properly: not surprising given the amount of snowmelt coming off the hills. Anyway, just before my fingers snapped off and I lost the ability to see where I was casting, I connected with this beast. If I'd hooked this two months later I very much doubt I'd have landed it; they go like stink when the water gets above six degrees. As it was, it was unhooked (barbless only natch), photographed and put back in about ten seconds. I'll be sending the info to the Wild Trout Trust tomorrow.
Appetite well and truly whetted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.