NoodlePix

By Pix

I changed the photo from earlier as it seemed to cause offence. It's just the way I was after finishing my race: elated, exhausted, and very hot, hence no shirt. Anyway I hope this nipple free version is ok.

Sorry for those who had comments deleted on the earlier version.

This is what I wrote earlier:

I managed.

It's a very hot day; the kind of day I wouldn't even contemplate going out for a short training run, never mind a 13 mile race. I also don't like running in the mornings and it was a 9 o'clock start. So all considering I was pleased to be only 1 minute slower than when I last ran the Sheffield Half four years ago.

The first 5k was great; felt slow so I was very happy with the lap times kindly spoken into my earphones by mrs endomondo. But then all the shade was gone and I slowed dramatically. By 10k I had no energy left and still more than half way to go. Then just approaching the half way mark I suffered the greatest indignity of being overtaken by a camel (actually two people from a local orienteering club attempting to break the world record for the fastest camel over a half marathon. It had been my objective t beat them, but I was banking on them not being much quicker than the previous record. But it looked like they were going to obliterate it when they sped past me. After half way I knew it was more downhill than up and I managed to keep going, stopping at all the drink stations to make sure I took on enough water. The course is horrible at the end when there is still a long way to go despite. Ring very close to the stadium for the last couple of miles. I really couldn't have gone much further. Note to self: don't enter a marathon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.