Eyes Wide Shut

I'm not quite sure how it happened that so many more people than usual found their way to my previous blip. I've been snowed under with work this weekend so I've not really been able to log in much at all. I'm guessing a few of you must have posted links. Thank you for that. And thank you for all the great words of support too. And all those hearts! It just shows what a truly amazing community this is.

I convinced myself last night that there is too much talent and commitment from people here for blip to ever disappear. The site has even introduced a new word into the vocabulary of the English language. All my friends and family know what it means to blip. It has to live on. And I have even more renewed optimism tonight on hearing a rumour on the grapevine that there are well connected people here working to ensure that it does live on. At this point, let's keep the faith and continue to show potential investors that this is a healthy and vibrant community. In some ways, the future of this site is in our hands, and always has been. This is clearer to me now than it's ever been. We all need to get involved to help it grow and generate the income it needs to thrive as a business. Let's all do our absolute best to allow Joe's vision to live on.

I am writing this on Sunday so the journal remains a little out of synch. I ended up spending the whole day in the office, which was a bit grim. I thought I was only going in to do a small job. It grew! As a result I didn't even manage to get out for a walk, let alone a run or a bike ride. It did, however, give me the opportunity to meet Bob here. Life has taken quite a toll on the poor chap, including the loss of one of his legs, yet he remains very lively and cheerful. He is looked after by his partner Dorothy and they have quite a story. They knew each other as young children but hadn't seen each other in forty years when they met at a club. He recognised her after all that time. They've been together ever since.

This shot with his eyes closed seemed to speak to me more than any of the others. It's not often I capture a blink. I think it makes for an unusual and compelling portrait.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.