Truly Blippin' Marvelous

By JohnEdward

Session

Best seen large/full screen.  I'm pleased with this one as this is exactly as it came out of the camera - no tinkering by me with soft-ware.  This lady offered to take my picture with my camera.  I didn't smile for the camera.  I took a few more too which I posted here.  I think I'm getting over my fear of snapping people.

       Phew!  What a wonderful week-end.  I still have a lot more pics to go through and post at the other place. 

       Today I tuned the dulcimer in preparation for the session at the Irish Embassy Pub at Ninth and Main in Durango; checked out of the motel then went to Mass at St Mark's Episcopal church just three short blocks from the pub.  I'd mistaken the time so I arrived in time to hear the choir rehearsing Stainer's God So Loved the World .  It was a joy to join in the warming up exercises and then sing with the tenors but only for the practice.  C. Scott Hagler is the Director of Music and also organized the Bach Festival which was this same week-end as the Celtic Festival.

       I arrived at the pub in good time to set up for the session which is quite informal and strictly acoustic - that is no electric instruments or amplification whatsoever - my idea of heaven - although half a dozen fiddles and (purists look away) four bodhrans can get quite loud.  Did I mention there was an accordion too?  So there were a couple of tunes I could join in and one or two I was asked to choose.  Road to Lisdoonvarna .  OK you can stop rolling your eyes now.  Ken accompanied me on accordion for the Arran Boat Song  and CJ strummed guitar to my Fisher's Hornpipe.  So I was well chuffed  although I was so nervous it couldn't control the hammers.

       I was on the road on Hwy550 to Cortez, Mesa Verde and Shiprock by 15:15.  A more dramatic drive than returning the way I came through Farmington.  A quick bite to eat in Gallup, NM before driving into the setting sun along Historic Route 66 and Interstate 40.

EDIT, February 2016:  I can now name these musicians. They are Yvonne Holland and Steve Martin,  members of Truckely Howe based in Durango, CO.  Ed Webb (not pictured) is the third member of the band.

      

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.