Who knew?

By InOtherNews

Whether it is the end, or it isn't the end

Either way I wanted to say thank you, to Joe for his great idea and for the community that grew up around that idea.

I'd like to thank Karen and 'Somethings Missing' for introducing me to blip (although I haven't seen either since 2010), I'd like to thank everyone who commented and dropped by over the last four and a half years.

I'd like to thank Rob in Copenhagen and Barbie in Marburg for their support and encouragement. Both have helped me with hints and tips on photography and wise words when the demons came knocking on my door. I pleased to have both as friends on Facebook and do count them as friends. One day I shall join Rob and Jord on Symi in September.

I am someone who has a real blip-story, someone who lost his way in life after turning 30. I suffered a job loss and a breakdown. I used blip as my only motivation to get out of bed in March 2011, my only purpose in life. I lost friends and became a shadow of my former self. It all got documented right here on the dulcet grey of old school blip. That dark grey meant light and warmth to me though, total strangers helping me through a time when my real friends could not.

My blip story is not a tragedy however, but a tale of triumph and success. Through blip I met a lovely lady by the name of scothlass, aka Barbara. Through her blip I stumbled upon the journal of a lady called Bryher. I now know her as Fiona, or my life partner. Our relationship flourished due to a shared interest in blipping, our early dates were always conducted from behind the lens as we grew close over this great community.

My passion for photography, born purely from blip, began to define me. I grew confident that with Fe's support and an outlet for creativity I could face up to the things that were causing me so much anguish. I got a job as an Assistant Branch Manager at Jewson. However now nothing could keep me down, and I quickly got a job as a Branch Manager. I moved away from Lincolnshire and moved in with Fe.... all this from the seeds Blipfoto had planted.

Now I'm incredibly sad that stories of its demise seem to be real. Fe and I have plans to buy a house in the Lincolnshire Wolds and I've moved companies and am now managing a Howden's depot in Louth. Fe will join me eventually and finally I'll have the life I thought I would as a younger man. I'll have the contentment I searched for as I turned 30 - but it took this great website to help me realise it.

As long as there is a blip I'll keep putting my shots up, either hastily taken on a phone on a busy day or thought out a little more on one of my weekends with my beautiful lady. However if it does die there will always be a special place in my heart for that grey background and those wonderful people who have helped me along.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.