OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

By Balfour Castle

I hadn't been to Shapinsay for ages so headed over for the day. As soon as I got off the ferry I spotted this tractor by the gate of Balfour Castle- I hadn't seen it sitting there before and liked it, so I grabbed a shot. When I returned later it had already been moved. This gatehouse to the castle is no longer used. It was turned into a pub at one point but I don't know how long that lasted. I was given a lift by Louise who lives on the island up to the hide at Mill Dam. Then I walked along to Loch of Vasa and along the shore to the wartime coastal battery at Salt Ness, then up to the road and back to the pier, stopping in at the hide to make coffee and have another look at the birds. Hundreds of teal and wigeon, lots of redshank, curlew and lapwing, a few shelduck and one shoveler were there but probably lots of other things at the far end. I was back early at the pier and listened to an album I bought last night- Human Spirit by Laura Jurd- very good too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.