blip art :: xb

By xb

It's a goodnight from me...

...and a goodnight from him.

With today's news of Blipfoto Ltd. moving into liquidation, who knows if or when the plug will be pulled on the website.  I'll carry on as long as the website will let me, but this could well be my final blip.  Those gaps that are in the film camera may never be filled.  After 2048 days of blipping, and as a fully paid up "lifetime" member, I thought I'd be gutted... but I'm not.  I'll keep blipping if someone saves the day, but if not I'll move on.  Find another site, or set up my own blog.

A few years ago, things might have been different.  I've a lot to be thankful to blip for, not least an exhibition appearance (and being asked for my autograph), and two articles in the local press.  But I've lost any sense of loyalty over the last year especially.  Regardless of what has or hasn't happened with the Polaroid deal at the start of the year, I can't help but feel that changes have been really badly managed, and a lot of loyal supporters have been turned off.  To me, the Polaroid deal didn't ever feel like it fit with blip's ethos, and now seems like a desperate attempt to save the day.  It's the hard-working office staff and developers, and people who have lost money with unfulfilled photobooks I feel sorry for.

Judging by the facebook group, this may be a controversial opinion, but there's a poster in the office just now that says, "Never push a loyal customer to the point where they no longer care".  And the truth is, sadly, I don't think I care.

Xander

flickr.com/xanderburgess
project365

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.