Mostly Six Five Oh

By nhc

I'm not sure what's happened to the day but it has just zipped by so fast and I've yet to get out of the house.  

New driver on our recycling pick-up route, he completely passed us by and so two very full and heavy bins are still sitting by the curb.  Garbage and compost went ok as it was the usual drivers for those.  Oh well, they say tomorrow they'll be by to empty the blue and yellow bins.

There was a flash sale on blurb, 30% off, so that spurred me into action to finally finish and purchase my 2014 Portland photo book.  Phew.  


I've not done any movie reviews for a while, a few we've watched recently:


Inherent Vice (2014), Joaquin Phoenix, Josh Brolin.  Based on Thomas Pynchon's novel of the same name.  I really like Joaquin Phoenix and he was very good in the movie.  It was a period piece set in southern California in 1970, a mystery-comedy.  The plot is very complex and I'm still not sure what the outcome was, a slice of California life.  I loved the costuming, there were some outfits that I recall my Dad wearing...  


One I Love (2014), Mark Duplass, Elisabeth Moss.  This was another brain teaser of a movie, a married couple going to therapy to help their failing marriage go on a retreat where they meet their doppelgängers.  It was different and not what I was expecting, I liked it.


Big Hero 6 (2014), animated movie.  It was ok.  Sentimental Disney stuff, not my thing.


Gideon's Army (2013), documentary that follows three Public Defenders in their work representing those that cannot afford a lawyer.  It was a very interesting and moving film.


I've been on blip for 3 years and 3 months and it was sad news to learn about blip's liquidation today, let's hope it doesn't mean the end and that there's perhaps a buyer out there...  I'll be here until there is no here.  Then I'll be over there at 365 with everyone else.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.