The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Light in the gloom

At the end of the day there was thick haze and low, milky light.  But the setting sun reflected as a bright band of light across the estuary.  Mr and Mrs Mallard launched into the light.

The announcement today from Joe was a shining beacon of hope for all of us who love this community.  Though, it was bittersweet.  I can't imagine how difficult this must be for him, to see this beautiful creation taken from his hands.  Some comfort though to know that there is a good chance that Blipfoto will live on.  And we can hope that the Blipcentral Team may find positions in the new company.

Out of bad, good things come.  The uncertainty of recent days has reaffirmed what a wonderful supportive community this is, and confirmed to us as individuals the value of our contacts here.  And on my backblip yesterday, DebsP broke her blip silence of nearly two years to leave a lovely message.

Something unexpected came out of the chaos for me, trivial in the grander scheme, but important to me at least.  I needed to download an upgrade to the iMac operating system in order to have the function to export my blips to pdf files.  Tonight I opened Elements to find that it can now read the RAW files from the Nikon 610.  I had always assumed I would need to upgrade Elements, and had been putting off the investment, using the more limited Nikon software instead.  It's a minor miracle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.