Around The Block

I've been around many blocks since I started my blip journal five years ago.    These days of backing up my journal have allowed me to revisit them.  I'm struck by how I can remember each and every photo: approaching the shot, taking the shot, editing and posting it, including when someone left me a comment for the first time on a certain one.    I'm also struck by how time has flown.  'Is it really five years since Lesley visited?' I say as I turn to Dd.

My vocabulary has been changed by the addition of a strange noun, verb and adjective, all with the same stem.    'Have you got a blip today?', 'I've just blipped'  and 'Are you blippable?' come to mind.  I don't expect to stop saying these things, no matter what happens.

This is the most poignant blip birthday I've experienced, as it may be the last.    The first birthday, followed by the substantial 1,000 blips milestone and, now, this fifth anniversary is the triple crown of blipping for me.    I'm also proud of the fourth crown that came my way in the Blip Of The Week Award for my shot of a bullfighter on 8th August 2010.

More than anything I'm proud to be considered worthy of the friendship many of you have given me.   It really is an honour and a privilege to have established so many meaningful relationships.   I cherish the nuances of each one that make it in itself unique and rewarding whether it be fun, irreverence, creativity, sensitivity, challenge or love.

I feel rich beyond measure when I think of the virtual and real interactions I've enjoyed with many blippers, including some who have passed away.    While losing access to your historical journals and all their wonderful erudition and links, if it happens, will be a heartbreak, losing you will never happen.  Platforms are secondary to friendship.   

Thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.