Sunbeams

By Saffi

Sand Sculpture

Backblipping again I am afraid but N has been so ill in hospital and a dear elderly friend who I regarded as an uncle has died during my absence from Blipfoto.

Anyway, a couple of girlfriends took me down to Weymouth for a day along the beach to give me a welcome change from driving up and down to Dorchester  to the hospital.  We visited N on the way back. He was cheerful and improving. 

The sand sculptures have continued each year since I was living in Weymouth in the 1950's.  They are now sheltered in an ugly plastic pumpkin on the beach by the Esplanade.  Weymouth sand is particularly fine and golden and is ideal for mixing with a little water and sculpted into a wide range of subjects and scenes.  Today the sun was  very bright and the shadows very intense so I could only photograph a section of the Last Supper.  There was also a memorial to those who lost their lives in WWI.

A very welcome refreshing day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.