Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

#blipfotoforever

I feel on something of an emotional roller coaster with all the recent goings-on in Blipworld. I have instinctive concerns about the way things appear to have played out behind the scenes in the past few months. It's clearly all been very difficult and my heart goes out to all those at Blipcentral who've tried hard to maintain the artisan/community feel of the site - which I've always loved - in the face of the way the corporate world operates. And who now have to face the loss of their livelihoods as we blippers face the uncertainties ahead in our own ways. Well, that's my reading of it. I could be wrong!

What I do know is that Joe created something very special with Blipfoto which blippers have picked up and run with - and I'm loathe to see this community lose that special quality.

So, despite my misgivings and fears about what happens next, I'm hanging on in the hope that Polaroid (or whoever else takes the reins) will recognise the strengths of the community and not try to impose change for changes sake. Certainly there are things which might need improving or tweaking a bit but, for the most part, we ain't broke and we don't need fixing. Good communication from the new bosses and ongoing constructive conversations with us blippers would go a long way to allaying my fears.

The people and the spirit here mean a lot to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.