Flying Garden Birds

I was taking desultory shots of the birds on the bird feeder from inside the house when a flukey chance capture of a flying chaffinch caught my eye. (Top left in the montage and the thumbnail ). Why not try and put together a montage of flying birds. So for the next hour I spent time shooting out the window, trying to second guess when birds were about to fly off the bird feeder. If you pressed the shutter after they had started to move, you were too late. You needed to be shooting on high speed continuous in servo autofocus mode just prior to them moving off in order to get a successful shot. As you might guess I deleted literally hundreds of shots and took breaks when the dogs went into the garden and scared the birds away. However, I did just about succeed in capturing maybe half a dozen decent shots reasonable shots. Maybe worth another go on a day when there are better lighting conditions. Previously I have only got the odd flukey shot and did not think it would be possible. 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.