Wideangle Wednesday 03 – Foreground Interest

After Tuesday’s revelation by Joe I had got a spring back in my step and actually got a (potential) WidWed03 shot 7.55 am on my morning walk.  Steps in the W’s household were so springy that, on the spur of the moment, we set off on the two hour journey to Norwich and Wex Photographic showrooms with thoughts of a new wideangle lens for the 7D etc etc (ETC!!)
 
After trying out the Canon  EF-S 10-18 f4.5-5.6, the Sigma 10-20 f4-5.6, and the Sigma 10-20 f3.5 we (I) wound up with the Sigma 10-20 f3.5.  Pure value for money, and if I was choosing the smaller Sigma, I would have gone for the Canon which works out about £50 cheaper (if you add in lens hood) and has a very silent focusing motor, a great help if you are videoing. I (we) decided that the f3.5 lens would be much more versatile, especially for low light conditions and worth the extra money, combined with a brighter image on the test shots, but that should have just been exposure issues.
 
Plans were afoot to re-take the morning’s shot (telephone) with the 7D and new lens, but pure exhaustion (I’m getting on a bit you know) after four hours driving and failing light left me taking some test shots around the house and garden.  Well the lens passed with flying colours, but not my photography, and by the time I got to editing I had caught up with the news of who Blip’s ‘preferred’ buyer was!  The spring in the step was shattered and depression set in.  I finally gave up in despair leaving final editing and uploading until the morning.
 
The shots didn’t look quite so bad this morning (05.30!), but I have chosen the Wednesday morning shot for Blip, and one of my test shots for 365, so I have two entries.  A couple of other shots are on Flickr.
 
I may(!) re-take the blip-shot again this morning, but then again as it will involve caring my camera equipment around the village on my morning walk I may not.  Watch this space .  .  .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.