Beneath Biscay

By Douglian

Sun, sand and stings

A beautiful day today so we agreed to take daughter C and friend M with their surfboards to the beach today. We went to Salinas beach near the city of Avilés, about 20 minutes or so drive west of Gijón.

I tried out the roof bars and straps I bought a few weeks ago for the purpose. After the short trip down the motorway we arrived with the same number of surfboards as we set off with, which was a relief.

During the girls' first dip M trod on a weever fish. There wasn't a first aid post on the beach but she had been stung four time before so knew that the usual treatment is to bathe the foot in very hot water. A quick check on the internet via my smartphone confirmed this, so it was off to a nearby bar, where they kindly gave us an old mayonnaise tub filled with fairly hot water.

After the girls went back to the beach I stayed on at the bar to watch the start of the Monaco grand prix, before heading back to the beach.

The girls went in for another dip and this time it was C's turn to step on a weever fish! I didn't wan't to disturb the first bar again as they were busy serving lunch, so we found another bar where they were also kind enough to fill an old mayonnaise tub, and this time put it under the steam nozzle of the coffee machine to make sure it was piping hot.

Still, all in all a very pleasant day. I even rolled up my jeans and got my feet wet. First time this year. Starting to feel like summer at last.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.