Bank Of Flowers

There are many daffodils along the bank of the river Cam, from Jesus Green lock up to the riverboat Georgina's mooring, which you can see here. The boat takes passengers for themed outings as far as Ely. I have been on several trips over the years. I like the afternoon tea trips on a nice sunny day. In the evening they sometimes have jazz bands and fish and chip suppers. Opposite is Jesus Green open air swimming pool, one of the few remaining lidos built across the country in 1929. At 91 metres in length it is one of the longest in Europe and open from May to September. In my younger days I was in the water as often as possible, sometimes climbing over the railings with school friends when it was shut ! I remember the water being quite cold and these days if I want to swim it's indoors.  This area is quite near to the fire damaged Tivoli .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.