pennychicken

By pennychicken

18 March 2015 - Startrails instead of Aurora

Woke up this morning to the news that Aurora was spotted in Aberystwyth whilst I was asleep. I AM GUTTED!!! I went to bed knowing that there was a likelihood that it would be spotted in North Wales but never believed it would be in Aberystwyth, cannot quite get over how close I was to seeing it yet completely missing it.

As a result, Medwyn and I took ourselves to Borth to stand by the monument, point our cameras north in the hope that it might appear again.  It did not, but whilst I was enjoying the stars I took 67 pics and using some great software I combined them to produce this startrail picture, bit of a shame I missed Polaris in the frame but that was obviously intentional!  It was really nice standing just watching the stars except that it was blooming cold but much more fun than sitting watching TV (even Prof Brian Cox!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.