atoll

By atoll

The Night-Errant

For this the most spectacular eclipse for 15 years, the Daily Telegraph recommended for this rare astronomical alignment both to turn your back and the use of a protective colander to protect against solar burn of the retina.

It worried me as I already have my mild Glaucoma diagnosed and some minor irreversible retinal nerve damage as a result. Call it over reaction but I wasn’t taking any chances, but had I got it right I wondered? Fortunately I was only in the back garden at 09:30 this morning. Like my hero Don Quixote finally acquiring his enchanted golden helmet of Moorish king Mambrino from a fleeing barber, I feel so invulnerable I might wear it instead of my normal 'Personal Protective Equipment' on site.

Live music to go with it was nicely supplied in real time by Desert Island Discs and music producer Robin Millar with his track 'I'd Rather Go Blind' by Etta James.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.