South Coast Scribblings

By SueSouth

A glimpse of the eclipse

We caught a glimpse of the first part of the eclipse.  I happened to be at the back window checking to see if anything was going to appear through the cloud cover - and it did!  I yelled for the others and Paul and I caught some images and Paul got a movie as well.  By the time I did a movie all you could see were strange rays of sun breaking through the clouds.  My husband persisted with watching and caught a couple of few second glances of the last stage of the eclipse, but they didn't last long enough to catch a photo.  I was thrilled to have seen it at all, as very little hope was held out that the cloud would clear.

We went down to Devon in 1999 to see the total eclipse.  We left at 2am on the morning of the eclipse and got back at 2am the next day!  My husband had been planning an excursion to see it since he was a child, so we just had to go.  We were very fortunate - it was raining on Dartmoor, but we felt we should head down to Brixham on the coast and we did manage to see it through the clouds.  The increasing darkness was amazing to see, and my film camera picked up quite well on it.  All the lights came on on the promontory opposite across the harbour and the seagulls were going mad - flying around in a sphere formation and screeching their heads off!  Also the boats all blew their horns to mark the occasion.  I was so pleased that my son was old enough (11) to appreciate and remember it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.