Purplepants

By Purplepants

The fabulous tree and the Alms Houses

I spent a long time today twiddling with the new toy camera and trying different settings. 

It was thick cloud cover across the sky at the time of the eclipse so no joy there! 

I went to the hair dressers at 10 for a spruce up and after dawdling back still felt no inspiration in the overcast grey light.

This afternoon the sun came out!  I carried my new kit  about the neighborhood in search of subject matter. 

This is it. The Watts Charity Alms houses. I love the massive conifer tree. Richard Watts was an MP for Rochester in the time of Elizabeth I and left a legacy for charitable causes (mostly housing, shelter and care for young or old or generally needy people). The estates must have been managed well as they are still going strong and there are many grants available too. The Watts name is used all over the place.

Looking at the web site, I see they have a very spiffy picture of these buildings - good photographer then!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.