Newcastle life

By Puffling

Solar eclipse

I forgot to go to work prepared for the solar eclipse-doh!
At 9.30ish my colleagues and I all rushed out to see a sky filled with thick clouds so gave up and returned inside. It was only one of my colleagues who thought to look out the window again and notice a break in the clouds. The light was too bright to see anything so curled up my hand into a fist and squinted through a tiny hole for a few seconds at a time to see it clearly. Since it was too bright to take a photo with our mobile phones (and Id forgotten my camera) we used the corner of an x-ray to get the dark contrast. My husbands microbiologist colleagues did similar and looked through a plate of dark agar instead.
It was all very exciting with everyone coming outside to look at the eclipse and it did go earily dark for a little while. I expect the eclipse to be blipped by most people today but it is quite a special event :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.