LadyPride

By LadyPride

Strangers become friends

Back to London today (me pictured in the cab earlier) for a retirement lunch with a client. I really didn't want to go but he has been such a friend to us for the last five years. I had to make the effort.

Lunch at The Wolseley which nothing short of spectacular. Wow. Food was incredible. Cocktails, wine, more cocktails, more wine.

Had a brief chat with a very upset Squidge on the phone outside Euston tonight which made me a bit emotional (or it could have been the wine?) "Mummy come home and talk to me I miss you", "I want you Mummy", "Can I see you Mummy" and "Take me to the park Mummy. Me and you Mummy".

Then my colleague Laura and I boarded a crowded train back to Manchester. She ordered more wine (I nursed a glass as I swear my liver was complaining). We ended up with the whole end of our carriage joining in with our conversation about life and kids and jobs and marriage etc. etc. It was really quite brilliant. The journey flew by, rounds of drinks were bought, pictures of each other's families were shared on phones and it was generally just lovely and very unBritish - sharing our lives with strangers who became friends after two hours.

Tomorrow it is me and my girl. At last.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.