wait just one more shot

By Susanbmathew

A long day

This is the Franco American Center in Lewiston Maine.
An amazing venue. Acoustics to die for.

Well tonight was the competition for Maine's got talent. Ingrid and I decided to start the day getting our hair done and makeup applied. So we went to a school called Chosmotech. They were so nice and had fun making us up. As my tech Becca said to me" we usually practice on paper...." The original tech I had shook a bottle of industrial strength concealer and it broke in her hand. so basicky, I took out a makeup tech. An accomplishment I am not so proud of..
We went to Lewiston and had a great soundcheck. We were the last act in the first half. We ended it in first place. Then the second act started. Lots of talent.
There was a band called Skoch. They were awesome. I was so impressed. They are a real band that played and danced.......and had a sax player. Never compete against a sax player. They were just great. The last act in this set was a young woman doing "take another little piece of my heart baby'" . These bands were awesome. In the end we took third place and held our own up against two bands. Not too shabby.
We had a blast and it took four makeup remover sheets to get the crud off of my face!
Tomorrow we perform for a telethon to benefit WABAN projects. This is a program for developmentally disabled people. They do extraordinary work with these individuals and it's an honor every year to perform for them. We originally had another gig tomorrow night but we moved it. We had to pare down. No more 2 in the same day. It's too much. So I am up early to go to Stones for breakfast with my Dad and husband.
Then find another outfit. It doesn't matter what we sound like. It's important what we look like.
We look forward to this every year.
I am headed off to bed!
Looks like it's good evening to below the equator and soon to be good morning to the north. I am so wicked tired.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.