Whaka Terrace

It was Saturday morning 3-peat of Whaka Tce. I thought I'd show and tell you a bit about it. (It gave me an excuse to have a bit of a rest too ;-)

Whaka Tce rises steeply from the flat. The middle section has a pedestrian on section of hundreds of steps (I've never counted how many). At the top it joins into Huntsbury spur.

It's a busy place. I counted 10 rebuilds under way and 3 major repairs where people have been out of their homes for months. There are another 4 completed rebuilt homes.

I have no idea how many of the remaining homes are awaiting outcomes with EQC and insurance companies.

It was a badly affected street. You can see a little of the damaged/slumped road in the picture.

It's progress - at least for some and the number of rebuilds underway is heartening and positive. With the passage of time it is not uncommon for insurance and building companies to erode what home owners can have in their rebuild.

Whaka Tce was busy this morning. Not just the usual crews of builders putting in extra hours but also a crew ferrying wheel barrow loads of metal to form the base for replace damaged paths and driveway at a hard to access house.

Then there was the other crew doing something with power in the street.

No lack of power excuse for me when I got home though. Just the shopping to put away, washing to hang and the distraction of fixing the part of my website I managed to bust last night.

Somehow I managed to do some house work and fix the broken website bits. I've even managed to progress it further. As far as I know it's behaving itself across computer and mobile devices.

I'll be a bit cross if I've busted it again ;-)

The weather is looking very dodgy tomorrow. My plans involved a lovely looking mountain near Hanmer but that won't be happening. It could be my opportunity to nail this site into a close to release state.

That would be very good :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.