Salvage from the Wreckage

By NickMogToo

NickMog's Mog

A day off!
And an eclipse!

The day off was intended to let me sort out a couple of things on the Gentleman's Sportster ahead of its MOT. In particular, the handbrake needed adjusting. The first thing to do is to adjust the back brakes and the first snag was that the adjuster had been broken off. Possibly by me - although I have no memory of this! Possibly by the garage at the last MOT. They did tell me that they had adjusted the brakes then.

The second snag was that, when I tried to loosen off the handbrake connecting rod - possibly the first time it had been undone in the car's 37 years - it broke. After a bit of swearing and thinking, I was able to cobble together a replacement using some threaded rod and some 2CV bits.

The eclipse was a little disappointing, cloudy enough that nothing could be seen - it all just went a bit twilighty...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.