Hyperionides

By HaxSyn

Bambi Balls

A lovely bright sunny day but I had a plan... rugby,beer and curry. I had decided to go and watch the last Scotland game of this year's 6 Nations at VDeep and trying out some of their food. Their selection of beers was similar to the last time I visited, house kegs from Williams and a selection of guest beers with a bias towards Drygate.

We shall not discuss the rugby... 

I looked over the menu and decided I could not pass up the chance of Venison Meatballs in a Korma sauce, to have something to mop up the sauce I decided to go for a plain naan bread (they also do peshwari naan which has coconut). 

If you're a regular visitor here you'll know I like my venison and often cook my own venison steaks (and occasionally casserole/stew or mince)  so although not an expert I believe I have enough experience to express an educated opinion. These meatballs were overcooked, not burnt, by any means, but too well done. I expected to be able to break them up with a fork but I had to saw them into bite sizes with my knife. The korma sauce they came in was uninspiring, more like a curry paste than what I expect from a korma,s in fact I've had tastier korma sauces in ready meals from Sainsbury's. The naan bread was also, in my opinion over cooked, dry and tasteless.The portions were also pretty poor, the venison meatballs came in a tiny little dish with only 5 actual meatballs in a little korma sauce (this cost £7.50) while a side order of naan bread was quite generous in size with two large thick slices (which cost £3.00). A couple more meatballs and a single slice of naan would have been much better. 

To some up, I'd say the food had nothing going for it, filling but uninspired. This of course was only one option on the menu but I do not intend to return to bother trying the other options.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.