a town called E.

By Eej

Safe travels, Mrs. Percy.

Yesterday, as I left for work (late, because I was playing with the Percys) I noticed a little lump on the road in front of our house. It was a Percy. Hit by a car, and very much deceased. It had just happened. I could tell.*
I started crying immediately. Yes, I know, I should not get attached to wild animals, but crap, they are my poppets. And yes, I realise this makes me sound insane.
I couldn't leave her (though I did not know at the time) in the middle of the road, nor did I have time to properly take care of her. So, I carefully picked up her tail and dragged her to the side of the road. She was kind of in front of our neighbours but I was bawling and saying "I'm so sorry" a lot and I didn't much care where she was as long as she was off the road.
I cried all the way to work. I cried at work, too.
Then I cycled home with a little box in my backpack to put her in. 

So I did. It was then that I saw she was a girl, which broke my heart because while there are many boys in the backyard I don't see a lot of girls - and maybe she was already pregnant. 

I debated taking a photo while crying some more.

Then I went inside and did the Ugly Cry - where your face scrunches up and you just wail with reckless abandon.

I decided to post this photo because this was my day. And it sucked donkey balls on an epic scale. Like this whole week.




*we live on a quiet street with a school around the corner. How anyone could drive so fast that avoiding a hit was impossible, I will never know. Unless they didn't care. Oh, I have some choice words for them. Some really, really good ones.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.