TrevorKing66

By TrevorKing66

Urban sketching in Manchester

I had a really good day in Manchester today with the Manchester Urban Sketching group. I have always done my art work within the safety of the four walls of my house and never out in public. So going out with this group today gave me the confidence that I needed to go outside sketch/paint in real life. I usually draw something as large as a landscape/cityscape from a photograph, so tackling things such as perspective and scale was really tricky let alone getting the composition right. The image that you see is of my first sketch, a building that is nicknamed the "Filing cabinet" as drawn from across the river Irwell. The building is Manchester's Civil Justice Centre. See link below.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/manchester/content/articles/2007/10/24/241007_filing_cabinet_feature.shtml

I will certainly be out and about with this group and in my local area as and when time allows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.