Class Reunion

I have just spent a couple of days in Napier at a reunion of my graduating class. The format has been the same since the first one, which was held 15 years after we had completed university. 

A get together on the Friday evening. 15 minute presentations of a personal or scientific nature (or both) on the mornings of Saturday and Sunday. Personally chosen activities on Saturday afternoon (the golfers take it very seriously and compete strenuously). Dinner and dancing on Saturday evening. The photo on Sunday before dispersing.

A number of spouses lined up in front of us with cameras and phone cameras. I asked S to take this one using the little compact which I had perchance been carrying in my pocket.

Now back in New Plymouth after another long drive; different route from Friday as we went south and across the island, rather than north and then across. About a half hour after leaving Napier, I saw two Kahu (Australasian Harrier Hawks) circling above a stand of trees close to the road. Stopped the car, and got out my camera, and managed to get a pretty good photo, raising my total to 47 different species for the year. The photo is worth keeping, but not for blipping. Last year I photographed 47 different species over the whole year. I have seen and photographed half a dozen that I didn't see last year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.