Cemetery Sunday

Its cemetery Sunday, so I took the opportunity to take a look at one I'd never seen before, tucked in the middle of a deprived area, just past a water storage facility.  Turned out the place was... huge. And an official Commonwealth War Memorial. I took a few photographs, although this was the one I liked best. Someone who had a house at one edge started a bonfire, and I liked the ethereal aspect it gave. It was near a more recent part of the site though, so there weren't the grand old monuments and statues you get in other parts. 

In many ways, cemeteries are a reflection of the culture. There were far more big elaborate floral displays and gifts by graves here than I've seen on other sites. Many of the graves had also been given little picket fences, particularly those for babies. You get a real sense of the trauma of people's lives.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.