Dancersend

By Dancersend

First wood anemone

I was at Wendover Woods all day for the Forest Discovery Day with a display, information on our Wildlife Trust reserves and activities for kids. It was exhausting, but fine and sunny most of the time and lots of families dropped by to try my wildlife quizzes. On the way back I spotted a scattering of white shapes on a particularly sunny hedge bank. After stopping the car and walking back I discovered a lovely little cluster of wood anemones, my first for the year. Also known widely as windflower, it is one of the classic early spring flowers and a reliable indicator of ancient woodland or, in this case, an old hedge and bank that would in history have been the edge of a wood that has long since been felled and turned into an arable field.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.