Oldbury Hill

Today my club was organising an event on Oldbury Hill; a large Iron Age hill fort near the village of Ightham.  It covers the top of a hill that would have provided commanding views over one of the main routes in and out of the Weald but these days is covered in trees. One side is very steep and earthwork defences were constructed on the otherside.  For orienteering its hard work up and down the slopes.


Mark, here in blue, was in charge of setting up the start. He had arranged the map boxes in an attrative semi-circle which just shouted out for me to stand the other side with a camera.  Mark and I were nearly the last to start as we had been doing jobs all morning (I was taking money) . At the busiest time there would have been people rushing to every box which would have made a more interesting picture but  but I would have been mown down in the rush.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.