Leiflife

By Leiflife

After Rain

All night torrents of much needed rain were drenching the earth. I woke several times as it shook my house and pounded against the tin roof. Yet still I slept well...fell heavily back into sleep's wide arms and succumbed to rest.

Music and Pearl slept well also...as far as I know, and Pearl didn't wake me with her usual persistent meows. She did assist me down the stairs by reaching and snagging my robe a few times. Downstairs, Music was still in deep slumber. He is quite deaf now and is slow to respond to my touch. He was particularly slow this morning to rise to his feet and be led outside. His return up the shallow brick steps to the entranceway looked painful.

I suppose it's the damp, but after breakfast he was far from interested in a walk. Music is sixteen and a half, one hundred and two in human years, and though he is slow and arthritic, he can perk up and act like a puppy now and then. Not today...

So I went alone to photograph Wisteria after rain. The Wisteria is so abundant this spring that just walking outside is being assailed by their essence. And soon I was standing in the midst. There were drops on the petals, and a large, thirsty bumble bee was buzzing and sipping without reservation. My presence meant nothing to him. Not surprisingly, he figured in many shots, and I was tempted to post the only clear one I had of him on the lush blossoms. There were also fat, shiny drops of rain. Instead, I chose the one with the fresh scrubbed sky, and this is why. As I scrolled through the results of my session, when I came to this one, I was immediately engulfed in the scent of Wisteria. Just looking at it evoked the experience of standing below those lush, wet blossoms with my camera aimed upward.

Music has been in his bed for most of the day, and I have had the rare pleasure of taking pictures with two hands on my camera. It has been a lovely Sunday, but I look forward to having my old dog accompany me tomorrow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.