Dressing Up!

I have been to Birmingham today for the Photography Show. The NEC is a big place and the exhibition I was visiting was one of several running today. In another Hall was the Birmingham Comic Con where thousands were dressing up for this fantasy and memorabilia event - an event for fans of comics, sci-fi, cartoons and cult fiction.  You can imagine the photographic opportunities - right next to a Hall full of photographers! This is one character with a rather spectacular costume I chanced upon during the morning.

Apart from the interest in the actual photography show, I had a place for an assessment for the LRPS distinction award.  It had taken a great deal of time and effort to get the ten necessary images ready for this assessment.  There are five assessors from the RPS who scrutinise the overall impact of the displayed images and then each image individually. One assessor gives a bit of feedback and then all five write down their verdicts.  The chairman then announces the verdict.  This is the worst moment - your name announced means you have been successful - otherwise you remain anonymous.  I watched a few assessments ahead of mine  - one of which was not successful - and one which was so stunning I thought I had absolutely no chance.  The amazing panel was that of LooseCanon so do take a look at that.

Despite my nerves, fears and anxiety I was successful and will now be able to use LRPS after my name - not that most of the world would have a clue what it stands for!  The whole process has been a very worthwhile experience, although I didn't think that earlier this morning.  Even if you don't want to actually go for the LRPS is is still valuable to watch the assessments taking place and see some of the spectacular images.

If you are interested in seeing my 10 images you can see them here.

When leaving the assessment hall we got chatting to another successful entrant, headed off into the exhibition and then for a 1 o'clock blipmeet.  How amazing to then meet again the other new LRPS success who turned out to be LooseCanon.  We really do need those Blip badges back so that we can easily identify fellow Blippers!  We spent a while chatting and then went our separate ways.  


I bought some Topaz software which looks amazing and my lovely husband bought me/us an Eizo high resolution monitor. Unfortunately I can't get my laptop to 'see' the monitor and I fear that the problem is with my laptop (still under guarantee should it be necessary).


All in all a rewarding and interesting day - onward now for the ARPS?!


DON'T FORGET MONOMONDAY - WITH THE THEME OF STRENGTH!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.