On Some Days

By V1k1

Mono Monday # mm60 Strength.

This evening the lovely daughter had to fly back to Christchurch.  At the Rotorua Airport is this statue of Jean Batten a world famous Aviatrix.  Jean was born in Rotorua, New Zealand in 1909.  She held four solo flying records in the 1930's.  In 1936 she made the first direct flight from England to New Zealand.  I think she would have been both mentally and physically strong.  I think going against the expectations for a woman in the 1930's would have meant she had strength of character.  The lovely daughter is a strong young woman of today.  She has run 7 half marathons and in May will run the 8th one.  She has also decided to concentrate on being physically strong and not be worried what the numbers on the scales read.  When I knew strength was the subject for mono Monday I thought it was an abstract idea but in the end I've taken a very specific view of the word.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.