Distance travelled

Today I took 19647 steps and more than 11km to walk into a whole new decade.  Celeste and I walked to Rumeli Hisari and beyond on this beautiful warm and sunny day in order to visit the Borusan Contemporary art collection.  The whole place was extraordinary, both inside and out.  The photo is taken from the highest roof top patio (there are several) of the building and the experience took my breath away.  Bosphorus Blue at its most saturated and sparkling colour.  I took several photos inside and out and along the way but choose this one because it summates Istanbul in one image for me: the bridge, the traffic, Ottoman buildings, a palace, modern structures and finally, the magnificent Blue with Europe on the left and Asia on the right, both stretching far and beyond the horizon.  There you have it. Oh Istanbul.

Walking home again we stopped at TAPS, a bar in Bebek with imported beers, ales and lagers. Hurrah.   Finally, had dinner in ANY in Arnavutkoy, Erin joining us.  Taxi for the last bit home.

I will always remember this significant birthday for the friends who made sure that it was a special one, especially Alison last night and Celeste today, on a day when I might have given in to a pity party for want of a call from my Dad. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.