atoll

By atoll

Lady of Twelve Thousand Isles

A kindly MrsB attempted to cheer up my Monday morning back at work this morning with a photo sent by Viber of her posing on the Maldivian beach at Asdu Sun Island in North Male Atoll. She's there for local school holidays with 3 grandchildren, 2 children, a daughter in law and heaven knows how many sisters, nieces and nephews. "Missing You" said her simple text.

In response I did think of posting that very same photo of her on blip but decided against it. Not because of worry of infringing any Copyright and Rights and Performances legislation mind, but simply for self preservation because I'm sure she'd kill me if I did (and she found out). So here instead is a photo also sent by MrsB via Viber shows her (right) aged 17 in 1978 with her (first) Mother-in-Law and Sister-in-Law. Will the passage of 37 years since it was taken lessen the offence? Probably not in her eyes, but hey she sent it.

She will doubtless be too preoccupied to notice anyway, but the wrath of a Maldivian woman can span oceans and continents believe me. It is after all a matriarchal  nation first ruled by a Sultana called Khadeejah - and everyone knows you just don't mince with a Sultana.

Err, well we do at Christmas, but you know what I mean....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.